England has won the ODI series against Australia 4-1 authoritatively after winning the last ODI in Perth on January 28 narrowly.

In a shocker, during the final ODI, England was reeling when five of their top order batsmen returned to the hut with the scoreboard showing 5 for 8 which could be a world record of sorts.

In the recent Magellan Ashes Test series, Australia whipped the formidable England side 4-0 with a drawn tie in Melbourne to regain the Urn which England had last won on home soil.

The ODI performance by Australia does not augur well for Australia, the current world champions of ICC World Cup, in view of next year’s 12th edition of the ODI World Cup to be hosted by England and Wales from 30 May to 14 July next year.

England had earlier hosted the prestigious ICC tournament in 1975 which was a big success. To assert her superiority in the shorter version of the game, Australia must win the Trans-Tasman 20 Tri-series which will also feature England and New Zealand.

Australia will play England in the second match of the series at Hobart (7 February ) and at MCG (10 February) which will be played under floodlights.

The present Australian ODI outfit does not look invincible and is likely to struggle in next year’s ODI World Cup as teams like South Africa, India and England have planned it systematically and pragmatically to field potent sides, unlike Australia which is struggling to have a winning combination of batsmen and bowlers.

England, on the other hand, is currently having a perfect combination to match any team in the world in the shorter format of the game as evident from her recent performance Down Under.

Pakistan wins the twenty-20 series

After losing the first twenty-20 against New Zealand, Pakistan bounced back to level the series 1-1 at the Eden Park in Auckland on Friday 26 January to remain in contention.

The victory was a morale booster for the Pakistan outfit as they were battered and bruised, having lost the ODI series 5-0.

In the decider played on Sunday 28 January, Pakistan defeated New Zealand by 18 runs at Bay Oval in Mount Maunganui, to win the Twenty-20 series 2-1.

Batting first, Pakistan scored 182 for 6 in 20 overs. The star performer for Pakistan was Fakhar Zaman who scored a quickfire 46 to put Pakistan in a commanding situation.

New Zealand, in reply, scored 163 for 6, falling short by 18 runs. With this stellar performance, Sarfraz and his dark horses return to Pakistan with their heads held high.