The Indian Men’s Cricket Team outclassed all its rivals with their outstanding skills in all three departments of batting, bowling and catching, winning the final on Saturday 29 June defeating South Africa by 7 runs together with winning the T20 World Cup title for 2024.

ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Trophy.

The 2024 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup was the ninth edition of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup co-hosted by the West Indies and the United States from 1 to 29 June 2024 with 20 teams taking part divided into four groups of five teams with the top two teams in each group advancing to the Super 8 stage.

The advanced 8 teams were divided into two groups of four teams based on pre-tournament seedings; the top two teams in each group then further advance to a four-team knockout stage in semi finals and then final.

There were a number of highlights of the T20 World Cup 2024:

  1. First time US hosted a T20 World Cup and the US cricket team performed very well considering their short experience as a cricketing nation.
  2. The Afghanistan team matured showcasing their well developed skills reaching the semi finals for the first time with their star batsman Rahmatullah Gorbaz with most runs (281) and star bowler Fazalhaq Farooqi securing most wickets (17) during the tournament.
  3. Less recognised team of Afghanistan, Bangladesh and US made it to the super Eight stage of the tournament  eliminating the highly recognised Pakistan, New Zealand and Sri Lanka teams. Afghanistan even managing to beat Australia, multiple winners of international cricket tournaments.
  4. Both Indian and South African teams performed strongly remaining unbeaten before the finals with India winning the final by a small margin with Rohit Sharma being the winning captain, Virat Kohli, Player of the Final and Jasprit Burmah, Player of the Tournament.
  5. T20 World Cup 2024 will be remembered truly as an international cricket tournaments with many non-cricketing nations fielding their cricket teams for the first time thereby generating more interest in the game of cricket globally.

The 2026 tournament will be co-hosted by India and Sri Lanka, with the 2028 edition in Australia and New Zealand, as well as the 2030 tournament in England, Wales, Scotland and Ireland.