Australian tennis superstar Ashleigh Barty won the Women’s Singles title while all Australian team of Nick Kyrgios and Thanasi Kokkinakis won the Men’s Doubles title at the 110th Australian Open 2022 held in Melbourne from 17 to 30 January.

Spaniard, Rafael Nadal claimed his record breaking 21st major title in Men’s Singles while the Czech pair Barbora Krejčíková and Kateřina Siniaková won the Women’s Double titles at the same event.

Barty is the top ranked professional Tennis Singles player since the fellow Indigenous Australian Evonne Goolagong Cawley and is the only Australian women winning the Australian Open after 44 years since Goolagong won it last in December 1977.

Previous to winning the Australian open now, Barty has been a three-time Grand Slam singles champion, and is the reigning champion at Wimbledon as well as a Grand Slam doubles champion, having won the 2018 US Open with CoCo Vandeweghe.

Born on 24 April 1996 in Ipswich, Queensland, Barty is a member of the Indigenous Australian Ngaragu people, the Aboriginal people of southern NSW and northeastern Victoria through her great-grandmother. She has two older sisters, Sara and Ali.

She won her only junior Grand Slam title at Wimbledon at the age of 15 and became just the second Australian to win the girls’ singles event and the first Australian girl to win any junior Grand Slam singles title since Jelena Dokic at the 1998 US Open.

Barty is the National Indigenous Tennis Ambassador for Tennis Australia. promoting more Indigenous participation in the sport of tennis.

Barty strongly identifies with her heritage having said, “I’m a very proud Indigenous woman and I think that for me taking on this role is something very close to my heart. I’m very excited.”

She was recognised as the Female Sportsperson of the Year at the National Dreamtime Awards, that honours Indigenous Australians, in both 2017 and 2018 and was honoured as the Young Australian of the Year in 2020.

Thanasi Kokkinakis and Nick Kyrgios holding their trophy.

Thanasi Kokkinakis and Nick Kyrgios defeated fellow Australian pair, Matthew Ebden and Max Purcell to win the Men’s Doubles title at the 2022 Australian Open and became the first all-Australian pair to win the title since Todd Woodbridge and Mark Woodforde in 1997. The final marked the first all-Australian men’s doubles final at the Australian Open since 1980.

Novak Djokovic and Naomi Osaka were the 2021 champions in Men’s Singles and Women’s Singles, respectively while Ivan Dodig and Filip Polášek won the double title in men’s and Elise Mertens and Aryna Sabalenka won the doubles titles for women in 2021.

Djokovic was unable to participate in the tournament in 2022 after his visa was cancelled for being a “high profile unvaccinated individual” whose presence in Melbourne “may foster anti-vaccination sentiment.”