Ibrahim Taha, an AMUST columnist was presented with the ‘Youth Medal’ by the NSW Premier Gladys Berejiklian in front of an audience of more than 1500 guests at the annual “Premier’s Harmony Dinner” held on Thursday 28 February 2019 at the Grand Pavilion, Rosehill Gardens Racecourse in Sydney. 

The gala dinner hosted by the Premier and the Minister for Multiculturalism, The Hon Ray Williams is an annual celebration of diversity to the significant contributions made to the community by multicultural leaders in New South Wales.

NSW Premier Gladys Berejiklian. Photo by Salty Dingo.

A number of medals and awards were given out at the event together with indigenous and multicultural performances marking the community harmony week in Australia for the year 2019.

Minister for Multiculturalism Ray Williams said the Premier’s Harmony Dinner, now in its eighth year, is a celebration of NSW’s cultural diversity.

Joseph La Posta, CEO, Multicultural NSW with Dr G K (Hari) Harinath OAM, Chair, Multicultural NSW Advisory Board. Photo by Salty Dingo.

He said he was delighted the NSW Liberals & Nationals Government recognised community members who have dedicated their lives to harmony in NSW.

“Tonight we celebrate people from all walks of life who have made extraordinary contributions to our multicultural society. NSW would not be the same without the everyday champions amongst us,” Mr Williams said.

Premier Gladys Berejiklian presented Stepan Kerkysharian AO Harmony Medal to Dr Chandrika Subramaniyan, a lawyer and anti-domestic violence advocate, recognised for her pro bono legal work with refugee and migrant women. She has worked in the Australian migrant resource and legal sectors for 20 years.

“Dr Subramaniyan has devoted herself to helping migrants and women, particularly as a tireless advocate seeking to reduce violence against women,” Ms Berejiklian said.

Descendance Indigenous Performance. Photo by Salty Dingo.

“As well as giving pro bono advice to women from culturally diverse backgrounds, Dr Subramaniyan regularly holds community forums on domestic abuse, child protection, elder abuse, and legal education community forums,” she further added.

“I also congratulate all recipients of tonight’s Multicultural Community Medals for their dedicated work towards making our society more peaceful, tolerant and inclusive,” Premier Gladys Berejiklian said.

NSW Federation of Community Language Schools Choir. Photo by Salty Dingo.

The guests were also addressed by the newly appointed Chief Executive Officer of Multicultural NSW, Mr Joseph La Posta and Dr Hari Harinath, Chair of its Advisory Board.

2019 Award recipients:

🏆 Arts and Culture Medal: Catherine Maguire-Donvito;
🏆Youth Medal: Ibrahim Taha;
🏆Regional Communities Medal: Lulu Tantos;
🏆Lifetime Community Service Medal: Odarka Brecko;
🏆NSW Human Rights Medal: Sean Stimson;
🏆Highly Commended: Rev Dr John Jegasothy;
🏆Stepan Kerkyasharian AO Harmony Medal (Individual): Dr Chandrika Subramaniyan;
🏆Stepan Kerkyasharian AO Harmony Medal (Organisation): CORE Community Services;
🏆Business Excellence Medal (Individual): Sudhir Warrier;
🏆Business Excellence Medal (Social Enterprise): Humanitixl
🏆Waratah Award:
1) Thuat Van Nguyen
2) Anh Nguyen
3) Eddie Whitham
4) Steve Karakira
5) Fatma Isir
6) April Pan

Photo by Salty Dingo.

Best Cultural Dress Award. Photo by Salty Dingo.