The Australasian Muslim Times AMUST team has been recognised at the Premier’s Multicultural Communications Awards held on Monday 5 November 2018 at Waterview, Sydney Olympic Park.

AMUST Multimedia journalist, Yusra Hadi won the Photo of the Year award while AMUST Managing Editor Mobinah Ahmad was recognised as a finalist in Young Journalist of the Year category.

Yusra Hadi with The Hon Ray Williams, Minister for Multiculturalism. © Photo by Salty Dingo 2018

Yusra’s winning photo depicts a Muslim woman holding up a Walk for #Respect, Keep 18C sign during a march by thousands of people from Haldon Street to Perry Park, Lakemba on Friday  31 March 2017  in a show of respect for all and community harmony against hate speech and bigotry.

Later in that week, Multicultural Australia celebrated the rejection of proposed changes to Section 18C of the Racial Discrimination Act by the Senate.

Mobinah Ahmad, finalist as Young Journalist of the Year has been actively involved in multicultural and interfaith communities across Australia for the past 15 years.

Mobinah Ahmad.

As AMUST Multimedia Journalist, Mobinah is responsible for the Lifestyle, Social and Community News sections of the news platform.

Sayed Hussainizada won the Best TV Audio Visual Report for his short autobiographical film ‘Sheltered’  that depicts the high school life of a young Australian Afghan refugee.

Sayed Hussainizada with NSW Premier Gladys Berejiklian and Mr Ray Williams, Minister for Multiculturalism. © Photo by Salty Dingo 2018

The film depicts Sayed Hussainizada as school captain in Year 12 on the verge of following his dreams, and is framed around and the everyday struggles he faced in adapting to a new country and culture, including bullying, harassment, and racism.

The SBS Arabic24 Team. © Photo by Salty Dingo 2018

SBS Arabic24 won the Best News Report that covered the story of Sami, an asylum seeker who was detained for five years in Nauru. SBS Arabic24 had exclusive insight into the conditions of the detention centre through video and pictures sent from Sami. SBS Arabic24 followed Sami’s journey from Nauru to Port Moresby in PNG, then back to his country of origin Iraq.

NSW Premier Gladys Berejiklian and Minister for Multiculturalism Ray Williams  announced the winners of the Premier’s Multicultural Communications Awards as Champion Multicultural Communicators.

Reports on powerful personal journeys of refugees and a comprehensive marketing campaign for multicultural carers were among the winning entries.

“I congratulate tonight’s nominees and winners for demonstrating excellence in multicultural communications across media and marketing,” Ms Berejiklian said.

“Multicultural communicators ensure everyone has access to information about services and opportunities to participate fully in our society.”

“Communicating the successes of our multicultural society and identity is core to the success of our harmonious and socially cohesive State.”

Mr Williams said the winners and finalists demonstrated the importance of a thriving multicultural communications sector.

“Multicultural communications is an essential component of any brand and business today,” Mr Williams said.

“These awards set the benchmark of excellence for media and marketing professionals not only in NSW, but across the country.”

Lifetime Achievement Award – Eduardo Gonzalez-Cristobal. © Photo by Salty Dingo 2018.

Mr Eduardo González – Cristóbal received the Lifetime Achievement Award for more than 40 years of service to the Australian Spanish community as the founder of 24-hour 7-day-a-week Spanish radio station, Radio Austral, and the first weekly national Spanish newspaper, Extra Informativo.

2018 Premier’s Multicultural Communications Awards Winners:

  • Best Radio/Audio Report: Xiao Han – 2ac Australian Chinese Radio
  • Best TV/Audio-Visual Report: Sayed Hussainizada
  • Best News Report: Iman Riman and Maram Ismail – SBS Arabic24
  • Young Journalist of the Year: Sofia Dmitrieva – RusTalk TV
  • Photo of the Year: Yusra Hadi – AMUST
  • Best Use of Digital or Social Media: Why Documentaries
  • Public Interest Award: Natalia Godoy and Soraya Caicedo – SBS Spanish
  • Alan Knight Student Award: Ella Tang
  • Publication of the Year: Indian Link
  • Lifetime Achievement Award: Eduardo González – Cristóbal
  • Agency Campaign of the Year: The Monkeys for IAG/CGU
  • AFL NSW/ACT Community Campaign of the Year: Multicultural Communities Council of Illawarra (MCCI)
  • CBA Business Campaign of the Year: Havas Melbourne & SBS

The winning photo by Yusra Hadi.