Copy of IMG_4085

AMUST Managing Editor Zia Ahmad

The Australasian Muslim Times AMUST has won the Premier’s Multicultural Media Award 2016 in the Best Editorial/Commentary Category. The Award was received by Zia Ahmad, Managing Editor of AMUST during the award ceremony held on Thursday 21 July 2016.

AMUST was finalists in a total of four categories namely Emerging Journalist (under 30) nomination for Mobinah Ahmad, AMUST Multimedia Journalist; Best Image for Mobinah’s People of Persia series; Best Print Publication nomination for Rubinah Ahmad, AMUST Graphic designer/Webmaster and Best Editorial/Commentary nomination for Zia Ahmad, Managing Editor AMUST for his editorial titled “Loyalty to One’s nation a universal, Islamic and Australian value.

NSW Premier Mike Baird and Minister for Multiculturalism John Ajaka announced the winners of the 2016 Premier’s Multicultural Media Awards in various categories at the award presentation dinner held at Dalton House, Sydney on Thursday 21 July 2016.



NSW Premier Mike Baird

“The quality of this year’s nominations shows the strength of the state’s multicultural media sector and I congratulate all of tonight’s winners and finalists,” Mr Baird said.

“Our multicultural communities are better informed; thanks to the work of our multicultural media outlets and I commend all of the winners, finalists and representatives of more than 100 media outlets here tonight,” Mr Ajaka said.

Australian Jewish news won the awards in five categories while SBS received awards in three categories. The Lifetime Achievement Award was won by Armando Tornari, an accomplished photographer and community leader  from the Italian Community.

The entertainment at the event was provided by The Sydney World Chamber Music Orchestra, composed of a unique combination of artists from diverse cultures, faiths and traditions.

Winners of 2016 NSW Premier’s Multicultural Media Awards:

  • Best Editorial/Commentary: Zia Ahmad – Australasian Muslim Times
  • Best Long Form Feature: Francesca Rizzoli – SBS Radio
  • Best Story on Cultural Diversity: John Birmingham and Gina McKeon – SBS Australia
  • Best Print Publication: The Australian Jewish News
  • Best Student Work: Sejal Madan – Fiji Times
  • Best Investigative Story: Joshua Levi – The Australian Jewish News
  • Best Image: Noel Kessel – The Australian Jewish News
  • Best News Report: Joshua Levi – The Australian Jewish News
  • Best Radio Report: Raymond Selvaraj and Kulasegaram Sanchayan – SBS Radio Tamil
  • Best Community TV/Radio Report: Ana Sevo – Meraki TV
  • Best Use of Social and Digital Media: The Australian Jewish News
  • Emerging Journalist: Pri Kumar, The Indian Telegraph
  • Best Creative and Innovative Design Winner: Bernard Sullivan – Charles Sturt University
  • Lifetime Achievement: Armando Tornari OAM