The results of the elections for a two year term 2016-2017 for the All India Muslim Majlis-e-Mushawarat (AIMMM), the apex forum consisting of diverse Muslim organizations, institutions and eminent individuals were announced by the returning officer Mr Rasheed Ahmad Khan on 1 January 2016.

AIMMM was established at a representative meeting of the community leaders held on 8-9 August, 1964 at Nadwatul-Ulema, Lucknow, as a Consultative Committee. The meeting was inaugurated by Syed Abul Hasan Ali Nadvi and chaired by Dr Syed Mahmood. Mufti Atiqur Rahman, Maulana Abul Lais Islahi, Qari Mohd. Tayyab, Maulana Kalb-e-Abid, Maulana Minatullah Rahmani, Janab Mohammad Muslim, Maulana Jan Mohammad and Janab Ebrahim Sulaiman Sait played a key role in the establishment of AIMMM.

Dr Zafarul-Islam Khan, editor and publisher of the English fortnightly Milli Gazette has been the past President of AIMMM having served two terms from 2012 to 2015. The new President is a Delhi based social worker and activist Mr Navaid Hamid elected for a term of two years for 2016-2017. Other office bearers will be appointed by the President in consultation with the Central Executive Committee.

The newly elected Central Executive Committee (Markazi Majlis-e-Amla) consists of Dr Zafarul-Islam Khan, Mufti Ataur Rahman Qasmi, Mr Ahmad Rashid Shervani, Prof Akhtarul Wasey, Maulana Asghar Ali Imam Mehdi Salfi, Mr Syed Shahabuddin, Mr Mujtaba Farooq, Mr Sultan Ahmed MP, Maulana Mohammad Wali Rahmani, Maulana Syed Jalaluddin Umri, Maulana Badruddin Ajmal MP, Maulana Mohammad Asrarul Haque Qasmi, Dr Syed Farooq, Mr Masoom Moradabadi, Mrs Uzma Naheed, Mr Khawaja Mohammad Shahid, Mr Sirajuddin Qureshi, Maulana Mohammad Salim Qasmi, Shaikh Manzoor Ahmad and Hafiz Rashid Ahmad Chaudhury.

Out of 158 members of AIMMM, there are only two women, Mrs Nusrat Shervani and Mrs Uzma Naheed, who is the first women ever elected to the Central Executive Committee and will serve the current term of two year 2016-2017.

The Golden Jubilee Conference of the Mushawarat marking 50 years of its establishment was celebrated last year on 31 August inaugurated by Mr Hamid Ansari, The Vice President of India and was held at India Islamic Cultural Centre, New Delhi.

The Golden Jubilee Conference was attended by more than 500 members and delegates from all over India representing Indian Muslims from diverse professions, schools of thought and ethnicity.

The Mushwarat conferred a number of Life Time Achievement Awards on eminent Indians including Prof Nejatullah Siddiqui, Mr Syed Shahabuddin, Maulana Muhammad Salim Qasmi, Dr Kalbe Sadiq Mujtahid, Mr Moosa Raza IAS, Dr Mumtaz Ahmad Khan, Mr KM Arifuddin, Mr PA Inamdar, Ms Teesta Setalvad, Justice Rajinder Sachar, Mr Ravi Nair, Mr Harsh Mander and Dr John Dayal. A number of awards were also conferred posthumously.

Prof Nejatullah Siddiqui is one of the two living founding members of the Mushawarat which was established by more than 160 members in 1964.

Professor Siddiqui, an eminent economist, played a pioneering role in the development of modern Islamic economics and has written extensively in this field. He has received a number of awards including the prestigious King Faisal International Prize for Islamic Studies (the only other two recepients from South Asia being Maulana Abul Ala Maudoodi and Maulana Abul Hasan Nadvi).


His Mushawarat Life Time Achievement Awards acceptance speech was published and distributed at the AIMMM Golden Jublilee Celebrations and a slightly edited version is reproduced here.